Highland Council


The Highland Council has a total of 74 members representing 21 wards, ten of which have three councillors and eleven with four members. Since May 2007 local elections in Scotland have been by single transferrable vote in multi member wards. Politically the Council operates on a party-political basis.

As at June 2023 the Highland Council is made up as follows:

Caithness Independent (1)
Highland Independent (17)
Independent (1)
Inverness Independent (1)
Non-aligned (1)
Scottish Conservative and Unionist (9)
Scottish Green Party (4)
Scottish Labour Party (2)
Scottish Liberal Democrats (14)
Scottish National Party (22)
Sutherland Independent (1)

  • 1 vacant seat with a by-election scheduled for September 2023.

The Highland Council Members

More information about individual Highland Council members is available at: